The Smile of a Butterfly

butterfly_full

Would you believe me if I told you I seen a butterfly smile?
Not just any smile, but the one that makes it worthwhile
Not just worthwhile, but worth every single mile
See this butterfly is unique, yet so versatile
This butterfly taught me about the beauty in simplicity
Life is too hard to worry about publicity
Following our hearts and dreams is what it’s all about
This butterfly will go where she goes without a drop of doubt
This butterfly is still young, but filled with maturity
She knows life is hard, discovers it, and keeps her purity
This butterfly makes me feel many things, but only one regret
A regret that I didn’t see her sooner, but we get what we get
And though this butterfly will leave along with the seasons
I wish for her to stay here for my own selfish reasons
But who am I to tell this butterfly to stay?
I want her to discover, but yet I want it my way
Is it because of the way this butterfly makes me feel?
Feelings so strong and so hard to conceal
How could I ask a butterfly to stay because of my feelings?
How could I even tell this butterfly without being too revealing?
You see this butterfly is so unique that it was never here or there
It came by like the wind, and will disappear like a flare
And though these types of butterflies only come once in a while
Would you believe me if I told you I seen a butterfly smile?

©Nixon Callejas
HASTOBENIXON™

Leave a comment